September’s spam
Just today I recalled that I was going to commit myself to posting an analysis of the spam I received each month. That was waaay back around March, so I’ve decided maybe I shouldn’t commit to that sort of time frame. What made me take so long? Well..

This is my personal account’s spam box you see here. While this isn’t really that much spam, it is still a lot to analyze. And this account doesn’t get spammed nearly as much as my website related ones.
So, instead of analyzing spam from my mailbox today, I’ve decided to post a small analysis of some of the denied mail in my mail server logs. This is much easier to do.
Sep 20 09:15:03 wine postfix/smtpd[7384]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from unknown[219 .85.166.*]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [219.85.166.*] blocke d using zen.spamhaus.org; http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=219.85.166.*; fr om=<joe_***@gmail.com> to=<vbibi***@gmail.com> proto=SMTP helo=<209.40.199.*> Sep 20 09:45:25 wine postfix/smtpd[7422]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from 118-169-213 -*.dynamic.hinet.net[118.169.213.*]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client h ost [118.169.213.*] blocked using zen.spamhaus.org; http://www.spamhaus.org/qu ery/bl?ip=118.169.213.*; from=<frances-****@gmail.com> to=<vbibio**@gmail.com> proto=SMTP helo=<209.40.199.*> Sep 20 10:13:34 wine postfix/smtpd[7467]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from 123-204-136 -*.adsl.dynamic.seed.net.tw[123.204.136.*]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; C lient host [123.204.136.*] blocked using zen.spamhaus.org; http://www.spamhaus .org/query/bl?ip=123.204.136.*; from=<baby***@gmail.com> to=<vbibi***@gmail.co m> proto=SMTP helo=<209.40.199.*> Sep 20 12:56:52 wine postfix/smtpd[11310]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from unknown[21 9.85.3.*]: 554 5.7.1 Service unavailable; Client host [219.85.3.*] blocked usi ng zen.spamhaus.org; http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=219.85.3.*; from=<all9 ***@gmail.com> to=<vbibi***@gmail.com> proto=SMTP helo=<209.40.199.*>
As you may have noticed, all the logs here state this particular spammer was always using the same helo line, which is
209.40.199.*
Thus it would be beneficial for me to add this to my helo deny list. Even though I’ve blanked out the last few digits, it is still the same IP each and every time. The next thing I’ve noticed is the constant attempts to send to this email
vbibi***@gmail.com
Which I assume is either a really unfortunate victim, or an email used to check if a specific server is open. Yet again, this is the same address for each of the log lines, even with the last few bits of it are blanked out.



